Smokey McDoggerson & Shadow The Clown!

29 Mar

Here we are once again with Boomer Lit Friday! This week a reviewer said she especially liked the chapter “The Parable of Smokey in the Storm,” so I thought I would share with you a bit of a dog story from

Image

I hope you will Blog Hop over to other Boomer Lit authors from here. You’ll find the link below and it will take you to excerpts of some wonderful writers!

From Chapter 28: The Parable of Smokey in the Storm

This excerpt begins after our 18 year old beloved dachshund, Zack, had passed away, leaving not only us devastated, but also the great big two year old, short-legged-German-Shepherd-and-something-else named Smokey McDoggerson. To him, little Zack had been his father, and he went into a deep doggie depression…

We knew there was only one thing we could do.  We needed to get Smokey a puppy. And that’s how Shadow came into our lives.

Image

Shadow looked like a small version of a black lab, only with shaggy fur, which came from his mother, who we knew was a Border Collie. Shadow was curious about anything and everything and would often go running off to explore something new and exciting. After all, it might play with him!

Image

Smokey took to the big brother role earnestly and taught Shadow everything he knew. But no matter how hard he tried, he couldn’t teach Shadow to Protect And Defend.  It was simply not in Shadow’s DNA.

Image

Smokey was The Best Friend Dog and Shadow was The Comic Relief. Smokey would listen to your problems, turn his handsome head to the side like he was taking in every word. 

Image

Shadow, with his tongue hanging to the side and a silly grin, just wanted to have fun!

Image

Until a storm was coming…

Find out what happened with Smokey in the storm! My book is available as an ebook or in print from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and others. Direct links are on the Mutinous Baby Boomer website:

http://www.mutinousbabyboomer.com/

Now, do yourself a favor and take a few minutes to hop over to another Boomer Lit Author at:

http://boomerlitfriday.blogspot.com/

CHEERS!

18 Responses to “Smokey McDoggerson & Shadow The Clown!”

  1. Kathleen Valentine March 29, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    I love dog stories – they are such interesting characters.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 29, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      They are people, too! (in their own doggie way, of course!) Thanks for stopping by Kathleen, glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Mary Anne Benedetto March 29, 2013 at 2:49 pm #

    So, so sweet! Pets are just like family members, and I’ve always said that their stories are so important. Great job…

    • Mutinous Boomer March 29, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      Thanks, Mary Anne, and you’re right, they ARE family members!

  3. mmurfy68 March 29, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Wonderful pictures with the text. Will be purchasing this today and I’ll get started on it this weekend.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Thanks, Michael! I started on “Goodbye Emily” this week and I just love it! Hope you like my Mutinous Boomer book as much as I’m enjoying your classic Boomer Lit book!

  4. Beth March 29, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Love the pictures. Such a sweet story.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 29, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

      Oh, thanks, Beth. I got a kick out of digging out those photos of when Shadow was such a little stinker…

  5. Lynn Schneider March 29, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Hmm, I have an idea about who that reviewer might have been. I like stories about dogs too, and the part I liked especially in this chapter was the storm. That was beautiful, and so symbolic. Thanks for sharing these pictures – both of them are handsome but the way Shadow sits there on the porch makes me want to scoop him up.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 29, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words, Lynn. “Scoop him up” is a great way to describe it! I’ve had some incredible dogs in my time, but none sweeter than Shadow. He was the sweetest and the smartest dog I’ve ever loved.

  6. Klaw March 29, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Still the rebel, I see. Well done!

    • Mutinous Boomer March 30, 2013 at 2:17 am #

      Indeed the rebel – aren’t all of us Boomers rebels by nature?! Thanks for stopping by Klaw & a Mutinous Boomer weekend to you!

  7. Sandra Nachlinger March 30, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    Beautiful excerpt (and photos). I’ve downloaded your book to my Kindle, and I’m looking forward to reading it.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 30, 2013 at 2:15 am #

      Thanks Sandra! And I look forward to ready IOU!! Blessings & Cheers!

  8. Shelley Lieber March 30, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Nice to have the photos to go along with the text. So cute!

    • Mutinous Boomer March 31, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Shelley, and glad you liked the pictures of two of the lovable mutts of my life!

  9. Claude Nougat March 31, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Love it, love it! I’m a great dog fan and this is so beautifully put together, the text and pictures…I imagine your book doesn’t have pictures, or does it? If not, you should consider a text cum pic version in future, this is very effective, people love visuals! I’m convinced we’re only at the beginning of e-books, in future we’ll have enhanced e-books with pictures and snippets of movies as a matter of course. The good old printed book will be a matter of the past, something quaint and interesting to decorate your home!

    At least that’s how I see the future…and you’re half-way there! Well done!

    • Mutinous Boomer March 31, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      Thanks, Claude! As you can see, I’m a BIG dog fan myself. I can’t imagine life without a dog by my side. And you are absolutely right about the direction things are going in, adding all types of media will be a natural part of ebooks. When I think how much everything has changed since I first e-published my book a year ago – wow! To make your head spin! Once I get some momentum with this version, I will definitely look into a picture version. After all, it’s my story and I DO have photos to back up almost every story…

Leave a Reply

