The Twinkle In My Eye!

28 Feb

To kick off the 1st Boomer Lit Friday, here’s a little taste of MBB420CoverV2

Without consciously knowing it, I had taken a wrong turn in the road. And because I’m a certified road warrior who has logged over a million miles both here and abroad, if I happen to take a wrong turn, I know it almost immediately. But this time I wasn’t driving and I didn’t have a clue how I had gotten so far off course. And that’s exactly what I needed:  a clue.

All I knew was that somewhere underneath the exasperating minutia of my frazzled daily life was the twinkle in my eye, the sass in my walk and the dreams in my heart. I didn’t know when I had lost them, but I had, and I missed them with an urgency that caught me off guard. It was like catching a whiff of childhood, instantly poignant. I longed for the magic. The question was, how would I find these precious things again?  Where do you go to look for a twinkle?
MWRCASTL
 

Well, where DO you go to look for a twinkle? Find out! This book is available as an ebook or in print from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and others. Direct links are on the Mutinous Baby Boomer website:

http://www.mutinousbabyboomer.com/

 

16 Responses to “The Twinkle In My Eye!”

  1. BoomerLit (@BoomerLit) March 1, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Love the twinkle! Boomer lit is a particularly interesting new genre as it pulls together authors with talent and experience…

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks so much for the encouraging remarks! Yes, we are VERY diverse – good for us!

  2. Shelley Lieber March 1, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    How beautifully you describe that moment…and so many of us have been there…where you suddenly feel lost, like you’ve taken a wrong turn on the road called “My Life.” Well done!

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:24 pm #

      Thanks Shelley, I do think what I experienced is something a lot of Boomers can relate to – I hope so! And thanks AGAIN for putting this Blog Hop together!

  3. Libby Fischer Hellmann March 1, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    For a second, I thought you wrote “twinkie” and was ready to hoot. Seriously though, lovely passage.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

      How funny Libby! I think I’ll name the next BL Friday post “The Twinkie In My Eye!” Thanks for the kind words and look forward to more of yours next week!

  4. Lynn Schneider March 1, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    This is so good. I am looking forward to reading it.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      Oh, thanks so much, Lynn, I look forward to your thoughts on it. I’ve enjoyed “meeting” you through our Boomer Lit Group. I think we’ve started something here…

  5. Michael Murphy March 1, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    That definitely drew me in. Can’t wait to sit down and read the whole damn thing!

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

      I am SO glad to hear that you were drawn into it, Michael. Thanks for saying so! I respect your opinion & your writing. I intend to start yours this week and I really look forward to reading “Goodybye Emily.”

  6. Timothy Hurley March 1, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    Nice. Best wishes for Confessions.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      Thanks Timothy. And best of luck with your “Hanzel and Gretyl A Boomer Fairy Tale”!

  7. Courtney Pierce March 1, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    ooooo….since we can’t get REAL Twinkies anymore, I’ll definitely settle for the twinkle – and a little magic! Nice tease, Marsha.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 2, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

      Hey Courtney – thanks! And I really think I’m going to call my next post “The Twinkie In My Eye!” That will have to intrigue a few folks because who doesn’t love a Twinkie?!

  8. Michael Murphy March 8, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    Congratulations on being voted Boomer Lit’s read of the month. Loved the excerpt and look forward to reading your boomer novel, Marsha.

    • Mutinous Boomer March 8, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks so much, Michael! Your book is still the Boomer Lit read until next Friday and I think I’ll be able to set some time aside to read it next week. After all the wonderful comments I’ve read about “Goodby Emily” and your intriguing excerpt, I can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

